NY/NJ Pro Sports Mural @ Jack’s

For the past few week’s I’ve been working on a HUMONGOGIGANTICOLOSSAL sports mural depicting representatives of the “big eight” local NY/NJ pro sports teams over at Jack’s Goal Line Stand, on Brighton Ave in the West End of my tiny hamlet of Long Branch, NJ. After much deliberation, the following lineup was decided on:

  • NY Yankees – Derek Jeter
  • NY Giants – Lawrence Taylor
  • NY Jets – Joe Namath
  • NY Mets – Doc Gooden
  • NY Knicks – Patrick Ewing
  • NY Rangers – Mark Messier
  • NJ Devils – Martin Brodeur
  • NJ Nets – Jason Kidd

I’m also painting the Jack’s logo and, since this is a Monmouth University bar, the Monmouth U Hawk.

This is the first project I’ve taken on of this size. Actually, it’s the first outdoor mural I’ve done, and only my second mural, period. So, I’m naturally learning a bit as I go, and it’s taken a bit longer than I would like, but I’ve finally got the whole thing sketched out on the wall, and I’ll be spending the next 2 weeks throwing paint on top of it.

I’m happy to be doing my first project like this with owners Nick and Tim, two great guys I’ve known for years, and to do it on the outside wall of Jack’s, a Long Branch institution that ensures this is a piece that will be seen by A LOT of people for a LONG time.

If you haven’t been over to Jack’s in awhile, or have never been, I HIGHLY recommend it. They’ve got over 30 HDTV’s, just installed a new draft system with over 45 beers on tap, they have some of the best bar food around, video trivia and poker, and the back room is host to video games, shuffleboard, darts, and skee ball. My mural on the outside wall is merely going to be the icing on the cake that will be the best sports bar in the area.

So, keep an eye on this blog for the next 2 weeks to see how things are going. Here’s where I’ve gotten so far.

1 thought on “NY/NJ Pro Sports Mural @ Jack’s”

Leave a Reply

