Happy Birthday Captain! – A Jeter Art Retrospective

Aside from Batman and Frank Sinatra, I don’t think there’s anyone I’ve drawn or painted more than Derek Jeter. So, in honor of his 38th birthday today, I decided to take a little stroll down memory lane by reposting some of my better Jeter pieces.

The last painting I did of him is the iconic “thank the good Lord for making me a Yankee” one. The one where he’s driving in the game-winning home run on Opening Day was one of my first attempts at the more abstract backgrounds I paint now. Then there’s the painting of his even more iconic jump throw which is part of a mural I did for Jack’s Goal Line Stand in Long Branch, and the montage drawing of li’l Derek surrounded by highlights from his Yankees career. I think I did that in 2006. It’s still one of my favorites.

Hmmm… Maybe it’s about time I got started on that 3000th hit painting…

20120626-153334.jpg

20120626-153346.jpg

20120626-153633.jpg

20120626-153644.jpg

1 thought on “Happy Birthday Captain! – A Jeter Art Retrospective”

Leave a Reply

