First Sketches: “I Am Batman”

20120723-123636.jpg

I’m still riding a high from seeing The Dark Knight Rises over the weekend (Ignore the haters & nitpickers. Go see it. It’s fantastic. I may or may not have teared up at the end. I will not confirm that.) so I came up with an idea for a Batman painting I’d like to do.

The idea is to look less realistic or traditionally “comic booky”, and do something more graphic and maybe slightly cartoony, sort of a blend of the animated Batman from the 90’s and the original Bob Kane version of the late 30’s/early 40’s.

I did a number of sketches ranging slightly in pose and style, but the general layout and idea remains the same. I want a dynamic, kinetic pose of Batman leaping and throwing a fist the viewer’s way, while the cape acts as almost a background and frame for the image.

For the first few sketches I used myself as a model, then tried to strip away the realism and come to a more stylized depiction. I’m hoping to paint it this week.

20120723-123609.jpg

20120723-123617.jpg

20120723-123622.jpg

20120723-123627.jpg

Leave a Reply

